Kiev Saxophone Quartet

Kiev Saxophone Quartet

Quartet Composition:

Honored Artist of Ukraine Yuriy Vasylevych (Director) - soprano

Honored Artist of Ukraine Mykhaylo Mymryk - viola

Oleksandr Moskalenko - tenor,

Honored Artist of Ukraine Sergiy Gdansky - baritone

Kyiv Saxophone Quartet of the National Philharmonic of Ukraine was established in 1985 by soloist of the orchestra of the National Opera of Ukraine YURIY VASYLEVYCH.

The team has performed in many cities of Ukraine and around the world: in Hungary, Russia (1988), Poland (1990), France (1990, 1991, 1993, 1994, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2004), Belgium ( 1991, 1993, 1994, 1998, 2004), Greece (1992, 1995, 1997), Italy (1992), Germany (1996), the United States and Canada (1994, 1995, 2000), Belarus (2004), Slovenia (2006) Cyprus (2008).

The quartet has got: first prize at the National Competition of the chamber ensembles in Kiev (1987), first prize and the award "Crystal Lion" at the International Jazz Competition in Lviv (1989), first prize at the International Competition of Brass Bands and Chamber Ensembles in the city of Rivne (1996 ).

It was recognized as the best team at the International "Music Fest" (1993), at the International Competition in Rostok (Germany, 1997), and the International Festival of Slavic Music in Paris (1998).

Quartet participated in the World Saxophone Congress, dedicated to the 150th anniversary of the saxophone in Anje (France, 1990), the 10th World Congress of Saxophone, Pesaro (Italy, 1992), the European Congress of Clarinetists and Saxophonists, Budapest (Hungary, 1996), at the 11th World Congress of Saxophonists, Montreal (Canada, 2000), Ljubljana (Slovenia, 2006).

The repertoire of the quartet consists of folk, classical and contemporary avant-garde music, jazz compositions. The team has recordings on radio and television.

Kyiv Saxophone Quartet plays the instruments "Selmer-Paris"; accessories of the firm "Vandoren-Paris."

Upcoming events